The Pretty Reckless..A Rebirth With Death By Rock And Roll - New Album Out February 2021

Mis à jour : 20 nov. 2020

We all have heard the Oasis line "But please don't put your life in the hands of a rock and roll band" And Taylor Momsen, lead-vocalist of The Pretty Reckless, did in fact put her life in the hands of rock and roll.

After the passing of one of her heroes, Chris Cornell in 2017 and later her close friend Kato Khandwala who was also The Pretty Reckless' long time producer and who died in 2018 following a motorcycle crash, the frontwoman compared her healing journey, to a process of death and rebirth.

In an interview with Louder, the lead guitarist of the band says :

We fell apart. It turned into a world of depression and substance abuse. At that point, we had to figure out how to continue making music. It was either death or go forward.”

Taylor recalls finding herself in a dark place. Even though it might have been a place where she thought she would die by 27, Momsen has just turned twenty-five when she started to collect her pieces together and wrote the song 25. She confirmed that in an interview with Blabbermouth published on November 13, 2020.

In another interview Taylor had in May 2020 with Kerrang, she mentioned that music was the thing that brought her back to life.

25 is the second song from their upcoming Death By Rock And Roll.

The chorus talks about her still being alive at twenty-five despite her expectations;

Taylor sings :

"At twenty-five, and still alive. Much longer than expected for a man"

25 is the follow-up to the title track, which was released in May.

"Death by Rock and Roll” is dedicated to the memory of late producer Kato Khandwala as well as an homage to people of the Rock and Roll genre that have died;

Some of the most famous Club 27 members are referenced in the song such as Amy Winehouse and Kurt Cobain.

Taylor Momsen however, was born again at that age as she turned twenty-seven 42 days after the release of the song. Loudwire published an article on that same day quoting the lead-vocalist:

"Rock is freedom and this song is about living life the way you want, and now that belongs to everyone who listens."

The fourth album of The Pretty Reckless, 'Death By Rock And Roll' will be released on February 12, 2021

and it features collaborations with Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello and Soundgarden’s Matt Cameron and Kim Thayil.

The full tracklist of Death By Rock And Roll is as follows:

1. Death By Rock And Roll 2. Only Love Can Save Me Now (feat. Kim Thayil and Matt Cameron) 3. And So It Went (feat. Tom Morello) 4. 25 5. My Bones 6. Got So High 7. Broomsticks 8. Witches Burn 9. Standing at the Wall 10. Turning Gold 11. Rock and Roll Heaven 12. Harley Darling

Click here to Pre-save it.

#ThePrettyReckless #DeathByRockandRoll

46 vues